Posted by: Lipstick Piggy | October 14, 2008

Insider | BIDEN | Where’s the Beef?

How many times can a politican say, “look?”

Earle & Jacki’s steel trolley diner

Biden stopped by this local diner (gov ted strickland’s favorite when he represented the district) with sen sherrod brown, shaking hands and slapping backs with local patrons. He expressed interest in the governor’s pie — made with oatmeal and ted’s favorite — before ordering a cheesburger, fries, and a black and white milkshake (vanilla ice cream with chocolate syrup).

He sat down at the counter to wait on is food and was immediately thrown some questions by a press corps that hasn’t had an avail since sept 7 (4 questions on a flight to kalispell, mt). Verbate is below.

He said he expected obama to continue to do well in the debate tomorrow, said he was disappointed that McCain said he’ll bring up ayers and repeated his answer in recent interviews that the ads featuring ayers are over the top, and said he hasn’t reached out to McCain about negativity in the campaign recently because McCain already knows his views on the subject.

Some good set-up shots here as well, lots of picture taking, etc. Nice stuff of Biden signing an autograph for a three year old boy named aaron (signed it to “erin” though…)

Verbate:
[WHAT EXPECT FROM DEBATE?]

Oh I expect to see the same from Barack. I think he’s going to do well. I think that uh – I think he’s – you know, look. I think what the debate has shown, the last two debates, is a guy who’s confident and steady, and a guy who’s not quite sure of where he wants to take the country. And I think all Barack’s got to do is repeat the performance he’s had the last two times out. I feel good about it, I have total confidence in him

 [AYERS TOMORROW]

I’m disappointed, but we’ll see. Let’s see what, what he does.

[TONE OF CAMPAIGN, SAYING THINGS TO PEOPLE’S FACE. HAVE YOU EVER TRIED TO REACH HIM AND SAY YOURE CONCERNED]

A while ago I did. I called him a while ago. But look –

[NOT RECENTLY]

No, it’s been – just since before 9/11. When we went at that event in, not we, but he and Barack had that event in New York. But look, I think John is – I was proud that John decided to take on some of that attitude that was expressed at his, one of his campaign rallies. And I hope he keeps it up. But you know, you have to – in my view, um, the ads that are being run, picturing Barack Obama and people saying, ‘known terrorist’ with. I think that’s over the top. You know, Barack Obama was eight years old when this guy Ayers was doing bad things. This guy Ayers has gotten all kinds of – I don’t know anything about him, I’ve never met him. But I know about him, but I’ve never met him. But you know, I think the average person looks out there and sees this guy who they say is a known terrorist, and I think they – the vast majority of the American people associate terrorism with, you know, radical Islamic groups and al Qaida. I just think it’s – I think it’s over the top. 

[IT’S OBVIOUS THIS BOTHERS YOU. WHY DON’T YOU CALL HIM AND SAY, LOOK, YOU GOTTA DO SOMETHING]

I know John knows my views. I know he knows my views. I expressed them in a – in a slightly different way earlier. So you know, look. John’s campaign, I think this is all about – all these people in this diner. I’ll bet they [inaudible]. They want to know one thing. And I’ve not met any of them before today. They want to know what is John McCain, what is Barack Obama going to do to change their circumstance. What is it gonna do. I mean all through Io – Ohio here. People are losing jobs. Their homes are being foreclosed on. The people who aren’t having their homes foreclosed on, their looking at the nest egg they had and they though the equity in their home drying up. And they want to know what we’re going to do.

You know, I think it was Bill Clinton said, all campaigns are about tomorrow, not yesterday. And I’m paraphrasing him. And I think that’s what people want to know. And I think when you don’t talk about those things, when you don’t lay out, when you spend more time talking about your opponent than you do what you’re going to do, then I think it’s fairly transparent.

But I’m looking for my cheeseburger here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

