Posted by: Lipstick Piggy | October 1, 2008

Palin talks Feminism, Gay Friends, Abortion, Morning After Pill, ANWR, Joe Biden, Global Warming, Evolution

WHEW!!!!!!!!!!! Almost every subject people have had questions about are discussed with Sarah Palin.

Read the transcript of the latest Katie Couric – Sarah Palin Interview.

To:
Subject: Palin CBS intvw

too much in here for highlights

topics covered: feminism; abortion; morning after pill; periodicals she reads; (the sot we saw earlier) her comments on Biden being in Senate since she was in 2nd grade; whether or not global warming is man made; & evolution… and ANWR is covered from the joint intvw with JSM so there is sound from both on that topic

TIMED VERBATE

Katie Couric interviewed Governor Palin Monday in Columbus, OH.

SHOW TEASE:

PALIN 18:30:29 feminism: I am a feminist who believes in equal rights… abortion: I am pro-life and unapologetic… beyond evolution: I see the hand of god in creation that is earth

SEGMENT TEASE

PALIN: 18:37:19 she is not my gay friend she is one of my best friends how happens to have made a choice that is a choice that I haven’t made

INTVW SEGMENT

intro: vp debate Thursday night slp and jrb spent today preparing spent some time on trail spoke

track: the day began early after staff briefing she heads out with her daughter willow in tow

Katie: 18:40:35 so nice to meet you too I didn’t know you would be coming along that is exciting are you having a good time with all this?

willow: it is so fun

Katie: really

willow: 18:40:41 I love it

Q do you get any downtime

PALIN: 18:40:49 I get to go running every day which is my sanity sweat is my sanity

track: 18:40:57 first photo op with hotel staff… then off to plane where we asked questions

Q do you consider yourself a feminist

PALIN: 18:41:05 I do I am a feminist who believes in equal rights and I believe that women certainly today have every opportunity that a man has to succeed and to try to do it all anyway

18:41:20 and I am very very thankful that I have been brought up in a family where gender hasn’t been an issue you know I have been expected to do everything growing up that the boys did

18:41:29 we are out chopping wood and hunting and fishing and filling our freezer with good wild AK game to feed our family so it kind of started with that

from joint intvw energy

Q gov palin it will take ten yrs for domestic drilling to have results isn’t drill baby drill misleading who think this will lower gas prices and quickly?

PALIN: 18:42:01 we should have started ten yrs ago tapping into domestic supplies that America is so rich in

18:42:07 AK has billions of barrels of oil and hundreds of trillions of cubic feet of clean green national gas onshore and offshore

18:42:14 should have started doing it ten yrs ago but better late then never

18:42:20 it has got be an all of the above approach to energy independence

Q drilling in ANWR

PALIN 18:42:28 nods

Q JSM you oppose you call it one of the most pristine parts of the world

JSM 18:42:35 ??? two mavericks to agree on everything

18:42:41 (laughs) look we just have — we will be talking more and more talk on this issue

18:42:47 but for us to agree on everything I think would make us a little bit boring

18:42:52 and you can say a lot about us but we are anything but boring

track: energy palin has brought it to the trail like this one

MOS 18:43:08 I strongly support JSM but I love slp

sot Columbus: I’ve been hearing about his senate speeches since I was in like 2nd grade.

Katie Couric: when you have a 72 year old running mate, is that kind of a risky thing to say, insinuating that Joe Biden’s been around awhile?

18:43:31 Gov. Palin: Oh no, it’s nothing negative at all. He’s got a lot of experience and just stating the fact there, that we’ve been hearing his speeches for all these years.

18:43:37 So he’s got a tremendous amount of experience and, you know,

18:43:41 I’m the new energy, the new face, the new ideas and he’s got the experience

Q and when it comes to establishing your world view I am curious what papers and mags did you regularly read before you were tapped to stay informed and to understand the world

PALIN: 18:43:59 I have read most of them again with a great appreciation for the press for the media

Q like what ones specifically I am curious?

PALIN: 18:44:06 all of em any of em 18:44:09 that have been in front of me over all these years

Q can you name any?

PALIN: 18:44:15 I have a vast variety of sources where we get our news to –

18:44:19 AK isn’t a foreign country it is kind of suggested it seems like wow how do you keep in touch with what the rest of Washington dc may be thinking when you live up there in AK

18:44:30 believe me AK is like a microcosm of America

Q position on global warming manmade

PALIN: 18:44:40 well we are the only arctic state of course AK so we feel the impacts more than any other state up there with the changes in the climate and certainly it is 18:44:48 apparent we have erosion issues and we have melting sea ice of course

18:44:56 so what I have done up there is form a sub cabinet to focus solely on climate change understanding that

18:44:59 it is real

Q is it man made though in your view?

PALIN: 18:45:02 you know there are mans activities that can be contributed (sic) to the issues that we are dealing with these impacts

18:45:09 I am not going to solely blame all of mans activities on changes in climate

18:45:16 because the worlds weather patterns are cyclical and over history we have seen changes there

18:45:22 but it kind of doesn’t matter at this point as we debate what caused it

18:45:27 the point is it is real we have to do something about it

Q talked social issues: 15 yr old raped by her father you believe that it should be illegal for her to et an abortion why?

PALIN: 18:45:43 I am pro-life and I am unapologetic about my position there on pro-life

18:45:47 and I understand good people on both sides of the abortion debate

18:45:52 now I would counsel to choose life I would like to see a culture of life in this country

18:45:59 but I would also like to see taking it one step further not just saying I am pro-life and I want fewer and fewer abortions in this country

18:46:05 but I want then those women who find themselves in circumstances that are absolutely less than ideal

18:46:13 for them to be supported for adoptions to be made easier

Q but ideally you think it should be illegal for a girl who was raped or the victim of incest to get an abortion?

PALIN: 18:46:24 I am saying personally I would counsel that person to choose life despite horrific horrific circumstances that this person would find themselves in

18:46:37 if you are asking though kind of foundationally here should anybody end up in jail for having an abortion

18:46:43 absolutely not that is nothing that I would ever support

Q some have credited the morning after pill with decreasing the number of abortions

PALIN: 18:46:54 well I am all for contraception and I am all for

18:46:58 any preventative measures that are legal and safe and should be taken but Katie again I am one to believe that

18:47:06 life starts at the moment of conception

Q ergo you don’t believe in the morning after pill?

PALIN: 18:47:12 I would have to see fewer and fewer abortions in this world

18:47:17 and again I haven’t spoken to anyone that disagrees with my position on that

Q I am sorry I just want to ask you again do you condemn or condone the morning after pill?

PALIN: 18:47:26 personally and this isn’t a McCain palin policy

Q no that’s ok I am just asking you

PALIN: 18:47:33 personally I would not choose to participate in that kind of contraception

Q do you believe that evolution should be taught as an accepted scientific principle or one of several theories?

PALIN: 18:47:46 oh I think it should be taught as accepted principle

18:47:52 and you know I say that also as the daughter of a school teacher a science teacher who has really instilled in me a respect for science it should be taught in schools

18:48:01 I wont ever deny that I see the hand of god in this beautiful creation that is earth

18:48:06 but that is not part of a policy or a local curriculum in a school district

18:48:12 science should be taught in science class

Q she told us though she is not a member of church but visits a couple of them regularly when she is home she took issue with news reports that one of them the Wasilla bible church sponsored a conference where gays could be made straight through prayer?

PALIN: 18:48:31 when the media gets it wrong it frustrates Americans who are just trying to get the facts and be able to make up their minds about a persons values

18:48:41 and you know I don’t know what prayers are worthy of being prayed and I don’t know what prayers are going to be answered or not answered

18:48:46 as to homosexuality I am not going to 18:48:50 judge Americans and the decisions that they make in their adult personal relationships

18:48:56 I have one of my absolute best friends for the last 30 yrs who just happens to be gay and I love her dearly and

18:49:04 she is not my gay friend she is one of my best friends

18:49:08 who happens to have made a choice 18:49:12 that isn’t one I have made but

18:49:15 I am not going to judge people

Q people may judge her after Thursday debate where she will be unfiltered and unedited something that reporters complain that the campaign has resisted

PALIN: the campaign knows that 18:49:27 I am an open book my record is out there and my life is out there

tease vp questions series for tomorrow

Responses

  1. The old “my best friend is gay” line.

  2. oh Pulllllllleeeeaaaaaasssssseeeeeeee. We on the west coast laugh at all of you that think you have a handle on anything around gay issues.

    Do you have any gay or lesbian friends?

  3. Where do you think I live?
    I live in Humboldt co. right now! And I was born in southern California and raised in San Diego. I do not think you can get much more west than that.

    Do you know how many gay people are in Humboldt Co? ALOT!!!

  4. Where did you think I live?

  5. You must be on class break today. LOL Humbolt is not the center of Gay Rights yanno. More like the center of “smokin” rights. And San Diego is as Republican/Conservative as they come.

    Have you been partying too early? I’m disappointed you didn’t even notice the banner header has changed today. sighs…. so much for all of my work.

  6. Oh yes and do you have any gay or lesbian friends? You never answered the question.

  7. Yes I do, but I consider them friends not “Gay” or “Lesbian” friends. Have you been to Humboldt Co.? San Fran. may be a bigger more popular stage for gay and lesbian rights, but Humboldt Co has a very “high” LOL population of gays and lesbians.

    As for San Diego, it has been changing for years. San Diego may be conservative in some areas, but it is also very liberal.

  8. I can only read so much then I get loopy sorry I can t read all of your articles. I do like that you are doing this and thank you for having intellegent discussions with me. Most sites just attack people if they do not agree with them.

  9. Where do you live?

  10. How can I brainwash you and convert you to my cult unless I lull you into a dialouge? There is an evil plot yanno. BWHAHAHAHA (halloween is coming… can’t wait for top costumes.)

    Join my cult….. sing to me… change…change. change… ooops… I mean follow, follow … follow… Tonight will be fun. The stepford man against the renaissance woman. good grief… this will be a long day…

  11. By the way I am 31 and have been out of school for almost a decade now, not high school HAHA, I am playing hooky from work not school.

  12. I know you said that before… you are starting to repeat yourself…. hooky from work…tsk tsk — No wonder we can’t shore up the economy. I bet a lot of people are playing hooky today. It is like a party.

  13. Renaissance woman or Barbie, Stepford man or same old crap? I am not tatally happy with either ticket but I really do not trust McCain more than Obama.

  14. Well actually I can work from home and I kick ass at my job. In an economy that has been bad for over a decade Humboldt Co. this economic problem has been here for a long time. So we don’t feel it as much since it has already been crappy for so long.

    So where do you live?

  15. So I must work on you… Don’t vote until election day… keep your vote… I will persuade you…Grasshopper… LOL

  16. There is no way that McCain will win CA.

  17. I live within shouting distance of Nancy Pelosi.. Well not that close but some times I just want to reach out and take that Chatty Cathy chip right out of her head.

    Who is it that keeps pulling her cord? I want to slap their hands… Can you imagine that she is two heart beats away from being the President? I think it deserves an article after the debate. President Pelosi… she needs to go back to the east coast where she came from.

  18. Never say never. Not all Californians are brainless. Although most of Jim Jones followers were from CA… soooooooo… hmmmm….

  19. I would still rather have her than Palin

  20. OMG… It’s a good thing I have a meeting to go to. Palin is about 10,000 times more decent than nancy…who can’t even get it straight what her own religion believes. She is just a caustic shrew. Got to run for a couple of hours.. Feel free to run amuck… I’ll clean up your mess when I am back… lol

  21. It has been 20 years since CA went republican, and with the current republican admin screwing up the country so bad I do not see it happening this year.

  22. hmmm… back from first meeting… What is Mr. Schwartzenegger? LOL

  23. He is a movie star, who has not done what he said he would. He said that he would balance the budget, how did that go.

  24. Hey… you said no Republicans in 20 years in CA. I said — OOPS Mr. Biden… I think that is a gaffe. No need to get all combative. I’m not even a Republican. sheesh.

  25. No Presidental canidate is what I was tring to say. If you are not a republican what is it about McCain that you are voting for? Palin can not be the only reason. I don’t try to be combative it just kinda happens

  26. yes there is a reason. Serious reasons. I’ll be revealing some more probably tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

Categories

