Posted by: Lipstick Piggy | October 1, 2008

Palin Practice session | Interview with Hugh Hewitt

Palin Debate Practice with McCain Sr. Advisor

Palin Debate Practice with McCain Sr. Advisor

 

Sent: Tuesday, September 30, 2008 6:44 PM
To:
Subject: Fw: Palin Radio Interview
Importance: High

Palin did an interview with Hugh Hewitt. The campaign provided a
transcript below. Unfortunately, they did not provide us a heads up so
we can roll.

Best excerpts below followed by campaign statement and full transcript:

SP: It’s time that normal Joe six-pack American is finally represented
in the position of vice presidency, and I think that that’s kind of
taken some people off guard, and they’re out of sorts, and they’re
ticked off about it, but it’s motivation for John McCain and I to work
that much harder to make sure that our ticket is victorious, and we put
government back on the side of the people of Joe six-pack like me, and
we start doing those things that are expected of our government, and we
get rid of corruption, and we commit to the reform that is not only
desired, but is deserved by Americans.

HH: Now Governor, the Gibson and the Couric interview struck many as
sort of pop quizzes designed to embarrass you as opposed to interviews.
Do you share that opinion?

SP: Well, I have a degree in journalism also, so it surprises me that so
much has changed since I received my education in journalistic ethics
all those years ago. But I’m not going to pick a fight with those who
buy ink by the barrelful. I’m going to take those shots and those pop
quizzes and just say that’s okay, those are good testing grounds. And
they can continue on in that mode. That’s good. That makes somebody work
even harder. It makes somebody be even clearer and more articulate in
their positions. So really I don’t fight it. I invite it.

HH: Governor, you mentioned the people who are struggling right now.
Have you and your husband, Todd, ever faced tough economic times where
you had to sit around a kitchen table and make tough choices?

SP: Oh my goodness, yes, Hugh. I know what Americans are going through.
Todd and I, heck, we’re going through that right now even as we speak,
which may put me again kind of on the outs of those Washington elite who
don’t like the idea of just an everyday working class American running
for such an office. But yeah, there’s been a lot of times that Todd and
I have had to figure out how we were going to pay for health insurance.
We’ve gone through periods of our life here with paying out of pocket
for health coverage until Todd and I both landed a couple of good union
jobs. Early on in our marriage, we didn’t have health insurance, and we
had to either make the choice of paying out of pocket for catastrophic
coverage or just crossing our fingers, hoping that nobody would get
hurt, nobody would get sick. So I know what Americans are going through
there. And you know, even today, Todd and I are looking at what’s going
on in the stock market, the relatively low number of investments that we
have, looking at the hit that we’re taking, probably $20,000 dollars
last week in his 401K plan that was hit. I’m thinking geez, the rest of
America, they’re facing the exact same thing that we are. We understand
what the problems are. It’s why I have all the faith in the world that
John McCain is the right top of any ticket at this point to get us
through these challenges. It’s a good balanced ticket where he’s got the
experience, and he’s got the bipartisan approach that it’s going to take
to get us through these challenges. And I have the acknowledgement and
the experience of going through what America is going through.

HH: Governor, when you say things are tight right now, is that simply
because of Todd being off not working? Or is it because of extraordinary
demands on the fiscal resources of the Palin family? What’s the
situation there?

SP: No, it’s just the great financial crisis that America is in as our
savings accounts also, and a 401K, they’re being hit.

HH: Sure.

SP: Our stocks, you know, they took a hit yesterday. And then of course,
just the same thing that other Americans are asking themselves today.
We’ve got three teenagers. How are we going to pay for their college
education? How are we going to make sure that we’re investing wisely
today. We’re putting a lot of faith in other people who are using our
money as investments. We have to count on the federal government to be
overseeing these agencies and entities, making sure that we’re not going
to get screwed on this deal, and that our savings are safe. So there
again, John McCain’s got some great ideas on granting authority, for
instance, to the FDIC, making sure that our deposits are insured. He
wants to increase that deposit insurance cap of all of our money, our
savings, from $100,000 dollars up to $250,000 dollars, so that families
like mine, so that we don’t have to worry about our money being safe or
not under FDIC.

From the Palin campaign:

This afternoon, Governor Palin took a break from debate prep to pre-tape
an interview with Hugh Hewitt, which ran just a few minutes ago. A
transcript is below.

SP: Hey, thank you so much. Nice to hear your voice.

HH: Governor, your candidacy has ignited extreme hostility, even some
hatred on the left and in some parts of the media. Are you surprised?
And what do you attribute this reaction to?

SP: Oh, I think they’re just not used to someone coming in from the
outside saying you know what? It’s time that normal Joe six-pack
American is finally represented in the position of vice presidency, and
I think that that’s kind of taken some people off guard, and they’re out
of sorts, and they’re ticked off about it, but it’s motivation for John
McCain and I to work that much harder to make sure that our ticket is
victorious, and we put government back on the side of the people of Joe
six-pack like me, and we start doing those things that are expected of
our government, and we get rid of corruption, and we commit to the
reform that is not only desired, but is deserved by Americans.

HH: Now Governor, the Gibson and the Couric interview struck many as
sort of pop quizzes designed to embarrass you as opposed to interviews.
Do you share that opinion?

SP: Well, I have a degree in journalism also, so it surprises me that so
much has changed since I received my education in journalistic ethics
all those years ago. But I’m not going to pick a fight with those who
buy ink by the barrelful. I’m going to take those shots and those pop
quizzes and just say that’s okay, those are good testing grounds. And
they can continue on in that mode. That’s good. That makes somebody work
even harder. It makes somebody be even clearer and more articulate in
their positions. So really I don’t fight it. I invite it.

HH: Have you followed the attacks on you, say, via Drudge or the blogs?
Some of them are just made up and out of left field, others are just
mocking. Do you follow those?

SP: No, I sure don’t, and thank God I don’t have time to follow those.
You know, I think that those shots, too, though, no matter what we’re
taking and receiving, it’s nothing compared to what real shots are
against Americans in this world. Americans today who are worried about
losing their home and figuring out how in the world they’re going to pay
their fuel bill next month, and send their kid to college, and may be
worried about losing a loved one that they’re sending off to a war zone
to protect our rights. Those are the shots that Americans are taking, so
all this political nonsense and the lies, the rhetoric that is spun out
there about someone just trying to offer themselves up in the name of
service to this great country, I’ll take it.

HH: Governor, you mentioned the people who are struggling right now.
Have you and your husband, Todd, ever faced tough economic times where
you had to sit around a kitchen table and make tough choices?

SP: Oh my goodness, yes, Hugh. I know what Americans are going through.
Todd and I, heck, we’re going through that right now even as we speak,
which may put me again kind of on the outs of those Washington elite who
don’t like the idea of just an everyday working class American running
for such an office. But yeah, there’s been a lot of times that Todd and
I have had to figure out how we were going to pay for health insurance.
We’ve gone through periods of our life here with paying out of pocket
for health coverage until Todd and I both landed a couple of good union
jobs. Early on in our marriage, we didn’t have health insurance, and we
had to either make the choice of paying out of pocket for catastrophic
coverage or just crossing our fingers, hoping that nobody would get
hurt, nobody would get sick. So I know what Americans are going through
there. And you know, even today, Todd and I are looking at what’s going
on in the stock market, the relatively low number of investments that we
have, looking at the hit that we’re taking, probably $20,000 dollars
last week in his 401K plan that was hit. I’m thinking geez, the rest of
America, they’re facing the exact same thing that we are. We understand
what the problems are. It’s why I have all the faith in the world that
John McCain is the right top of any ticket at this point to get us
through these challenges. It’s a good balanced ticket where he’s got the
experience, and he’s got the bipartisan approach that it’s going to take
to get us through these challenges. And I have the acknowledgement and
the experience of going through what America is going through.

HH: Governor, when you say things are tight right now, is that simply
because of Todd being off not working? Or is it because of extraordinary
demands on the fiscal resources of the Palin family? What’s the
situation there?

SP: No, it’s just the great financial crisis that America is in as our
savings accounts also, and a 401K, they’re being hit.

HH: Sure.

SP: Our stocks, you know, they took a hit yesterday. And then of course,
just the same thing that other Americans are asking themselves today.
We’ve got three teenagers. How are we going to pay for their college
education? How are we going to make sure that we’re investing wisely
today. We’re putting a lot of faith in other people who are using our
money as investments. We have to count on the federal government to be
overseeing these agencies and entities, making sure that we’re not going
to get screwed on this deal, and that our savings are safe. So there
again, John McCain’s got some great ideas on granting authority, for
instance, to the FDIC, making sure that our deposits are insured. He
wants to increase that deposit insurance cap of all of our money, our
savings, from $100,000 dollars up to $250,000 dollars, so that families
like mine, so that we don’t have to worry about our money being safe or
not under FDIC.

HH: Governor, let’s turn to a couple of issues that the MSM’s not going
to pick up. You’re pro-life, and how much of the virulent opposition to
you on the left do you attribute to your pro-life position, and maybe
even to the birth of, your decision, your and Todd’s decision to have
Trig?

SP: Yeah, you know, I think that that’s been probably the most hurtful
and nonsensical slap that we’ve been taking is our position that we have
taken, pro-life, me personally, and saying that you know, even though I
knew that 13 weeks along that Trig would be born with Down Syndrome, and
I said you know, he’s still going to be a most precious ingredient in
this sometimes messed-up world that we live in. I know that my son is
going to provide a lot of hope and a lot of promise in this world, and
I’m so thankful of course that I’ve had the opportunity to give him life
and to bring him into this world. But I think yeah truly, that that’s
been a hurtful slap that we have taken, because people just don’t
understand. Ironic too, Hugh, that some would consider my position on
life and trying to usher in a culture of life, respecting the sanctity
of life in America, that that is seen as an extreme position when to me,
an extreme position is one that Barack Obama took when he was in the
Illinois State Senate, not even supporting a measure that would ban
partial birth abortion, not even supporting a measure that would during,
after a botched abortion and that baby’s born alive, allowing medical
care to cease and allowing that baby to die. That to me is extreme.
That’s so far, far left it’s certainly out of the mainstream of America.
To me, that is the extreme position, not my position of just wanting
that culture of life to be respected, and not wanting government to
sanction the idea of ending life.

HH: Do you think the mainstream media and the left understands your
religious faith, Governor Palin?

SP: I think that there’s a lot of mocking of my personal faith, and my
personal faith is very, very simple. I don’t belong to any church. I do
have a strong belief in God, and I believe that I’m a heck of a lot
better off putting my life in God’s hands, and saying hey, you know,
guide me. What else do we have but guidance that we would seek from a
Creator? That’s about as simple as it gets with my faith, and I think
that there is a lot of mocking of that. And you know, so bet it, though
I do have respect for those who have differing views than I do on faith,
on religion. I’m not going to mock them, and I would hope that they
would kind of I guess give me the same courtesy through this of not
mocking a person’s faith, but maybe perhaps even trying to understand a
little bit of it.

HH: Governor, let’s close with some foreign affairs. It is reported that
you had an Israeli flag in your governor’s office. You wore an Israeli
flag pin occasionally. One, is that true? And two, why your support for
Israel?

SP: Well, it is true, and I ran into Shimon Peres recently at a meeting,
and he even pointed that out. He said I saw a picture of you on the
internet, and you had an Israeli flag in your state government office,
and I said I sure do. You know, my heart is with you. And all of those
trials and tribulations throughout history that Israel has gone through,
not only does that allow me to want to support that country, but Israel
is our strongest and most important ally in the Middle East. And they
are a democratic country who I believe deserves our support, and I know
that John McCain believes as I do that Israel is our friend, and we need
to be there to support them. They are there for us, and I do love that
country.

HH: Last question, Governor. Have you and Todd heard from your son? And
how is it on your nerves having your son deployed?

SP: That little stinker, I guess he’s called his girlfriend a couple of
times, but can you believe he hasn’t called his momma yet? He’s over
there. They were just leaving Kuwait heading into Iraq, and I am just so
extremely proud of Track, my son, and all of the men and women, of
course, serving in the military. I’m proud that my son made this
independent and very wise decision as such a young man at 18, deciding
you know, he realized there’s something he can do to help, to
contribute, to help protect our nation, and I couldn’t be more proud of
him and all those who choose to serve in our military. They’re serving
for the right reasons. God bless them, God love them.

HH: Governor Sarah Palin, look forward to talking to you again, good
luck on Thursday night.

SP: Thank you so much. Talk to you soon.

End of interview.

Leave a Reply

Categories

