Posted by: Lipstick Piggy | September 30, 2008

John McCain Interview Fox & Friends

Sent: Tue Sep 30 09:14:45 2008
Subject: JSM@F&F

highlights then full verbate

– JSM proposals: 8:28:44 I have talked to the president this morning and recommended an increase to from 100k to 250k fdic insured on deposits 8:28:54 I also strongly recommended that the exchange stability fund that the treasury has has available 250 billion to shore up these institutions 8:29:06 also the treasury has at its disposal about a trillion dollars that they could begin without congressional authority buying up some of these terrible mortgages and help stabilize this situation

-asked if he favored yesterday’s bill passing: 8:29:45 absolutely

-asked if he would suspend again he said: I will continue to do whatever is necessary and I will put my 8:31:57 presidential campaign on the back burner if necessary and do anything  8:32:04 it is far more important to help the economy recover from one of the deepest fiscal crisises (sic) in history but I 8:32:10 will do whatever is necessary that I think can be effective 8:32:14 and if we fail the first time it wont be the first time but we will go back and we will fix this problem

-need to do a better job communicating that it is rescue not bailout: it is  8:33:14 not for wall street in fact  8:33:16 all of us would like to punish wall street 8:33:21 and the special interests and the insiders and the members of congress who facilitated fannie mae and freddie mac in incredible abuses that they practiced 8:33:29 but at the same time have to keep uppermost and that’s helping average American citizens who are being harmed by this fiscal crisis that we are in

– didnt want to get drawn into a war with the press this morning:  8:35:23 look I am not going to complain nor is sarah palin she is tough 8:35:32 but she is up against a great debater and joe biden has had many yrs experience on that  8:35:38 and she is clearly the underdog I am confident she will do extremely well

– Doocy’s favorite color is apparently blue not chartreuse

Senator McCain appeared on Fox & Friends

Q kilmeade: obama proposal 259k fdic cap raise bold move

8:28:44 I have talked to the president this morning and recommended an increase to from 100k to 250k fdic insured on deposits

8:28:54 I also strongly recommended that the exchange stability fund that the treasury has has available 250 billion to shore up these institutions

8:29:06 also the treasury has at its disposal about a trillion dollars that they could begin without congressional authority buying up some of these terrible mortgages and help stabilize this situation

8:29:16 so I have talked to the president I know that we have to act even though we failed yesterday

8:29:25 even though I went back and was able to get more republicans on board or help get more republicans on board we will go back to this and

8:29:32 will be engaged always where I think America needs engagement

Q Gretchen: so senator are you saying you went back to get more gopers on board so you were in favor of voting yes yesterday and in essence then –

8:29:45 absolutely

Q Gretchen: going back to last week didn’t change enough gop minds

8:29:54 no it didn’t change enough republicans minds

8:29:59 we are going to have to change enough republican and democrat minds it was 95 democrats that voted against it

8:30:05 look peoples credit is at risk here the ability to buy a car to make home loan payments for small businesses to get credit

8:30:13 look this is affecting main street America and we are going to have to resolve it and we have to act

8:30:18 1.2 trillion dollars of American savings pensions IRAs mutual funds investments etc were wiped out and that hurts main street

8:30:31 I have got a plan to cut spending to keep taxes low for making sure that people can keep stay in their homes a long term plan

8:30:38 in the short term we have to take these measures I just outlined to you and lets go back and lets make Americans understand who are opposed

8:30:47 I was watching your program earlier how this affect not wall street but main street and working families of America

Q doocy: many are angry about it we have never gotten so many emails as today and we are asking who they blame for the bailout failure but looking ahead you have position and ideas thought about suspending again you did it last week and it really focused nations focus and you did wind up gop did end up getting some deals thinking about suspending again cause if you do maybe you will get better bill and you will emerge the leader in this?

8:31:36 well as you know the house of representatives is out for a religious holiday today

8:31:43 so I will do whatever I can do to make this work

8:31:49 as I said I had discussion already with the president I have had discussion with my colleagues I will continue to do whatever is necessary and I will put my

8:31:57 presidential campaign on the back burner if necessary and do anything

8:32:04 it is far more important to help the economy recover from one of the deepest fiscal crisises in history but I

8:32:10 will do whatever is necessary that I think can be effective

8:32:14 and if we fail the first time it wont be the first time but we will go back and we will fix this problem because the effect it has on working families and America which is

8:32:21 devastating

Q kilmeade: why are Americans against it do they not know how bad this will be for them has that not been effectively communicating have you thought about siding with Americans and polls on this?

8:32:40 well you have to do what’s right I didn’t side with the majority of the Americans people when I said we needed to have 30 thousand additional troops in Iraq this is a crisis of enormous proportions I have to do what is right for this country

8:32:54 time after time I have stood up for what I know is right

8:32:57 our job is is to convince the American people the effect on the ability to buy an automobile to buy a new product for

8:33:04 small businesses to get the credit that they need in order to stay in business

8:33:09 this is what we have to convince people of that it is

8:33:14 not for wall street in fact

8:33:16 all of us would like to punish wall street

8:33:21 and the special interests and the insiders and the members of congress who facilitated fannie mae and freddie mac in incredible abuses that they practiced

8:33:29 but at the same time have to keep uppermost and that’s helping average American citizens who are being harmed by this fiscal crisis that we are in

Q Gretchen: more argue economy more dire this week than last when you suspended some critics said that was stunt is that why you are not suspending?

8:33:57 I will do as I said they are out for holidays I will do whatever is necessary and whatever my republican colleagues and the administration and others ask me to do to help in the short term in the long term

8:34:14 senator obama wants to raise taxes he wants to increase spending by some 860 billion dollars I will be –

Q Gretchen: to show ldrship 35 days to election will come down to econ will you take that kind of risk?

8:34:34 I will do whatever is necessary I just did it in case you missed it which I am sure you didn’t I will do whatever is necessary to get this going again I am

8:34:45 confident we will have a bill and it will rescue the American economy but remember all it is going to do

8:34:53 is stop the bleeding we have a long way to go to get our economy and our prosperity going again which we can and will

Q doocy: debate Thursday in stl palin v biden your perspective on what many are saying is unfair treatment in press?

8:35:23 look I am not going to complain nor is sarah palin she is tough

8:35:32 but she is up against a great debater and joe biden has had many yrs experience on that

8:35:38 and she is clearly the underdog I am confident she will do extremely well because she has all the right values principles

8:35:43 shares my world view

8:35:46 and is also an expert on energy by the way among other things

8:35:51 and it is not an accident that she is the most popular governor in America

8:35:55 and I am confident she will do just fine I am proud of her

Q doocy: you talked about gotcha questions I have one gotcha color for you what is my favorite color

8:36:10 what is my favorite color?

Q no what is my favorite color this is a hard question

8:36:15 yours is probably chartreuse

Q Gretchen: that’s the color of his tie

Q doocy: its blue by the way thanks for joining us

8:36:34 mine too thanks gang

Responses

  1. wow…

    http://culturedecoded.wordpress.com/2008/09/30/analysis-why-the-republicans-cant-replace-sarah-palin/

  2. When did he cancel his campian?

  3. you are behind… catch up… old story.. get current.

  4. I was trying to be sarcastic. He never really cancelled his campian. He said that he would stop advertising, he didn’t. Even the morning of the debate, the day after he said he would be cancelling his campain, he had an add on a website that claimed “McCain Wins Debate” He had a huge smile on his face. See for yourself:

    http://voices.washingtonpost.com/thefix/2008/09/mccain_wins_debate.html


Leave a Reply

Categories

